Top 13 Books of 2013

Hey guys!

Whoa I can’t believe its 2014 already πŸ˜€ . How are you guys doing? I hope you guys had a wonderful new year celebration. Mine was okay I guess. Gathering with all my cousins. Had satay and played PlayStation. LOL. They all played the new GTA (Grand Theft Auto) games. It was fun. πŸ™‚

So, I read lots of books this year. 71 books!! whoa! I know! Compare to what I read in 2012 (35 books) , it was definitely a lot for me. I listed top 13 books of my favorite. Trust me, it was hard. I read lots of series this year hahaha so hard to choose which one is my fave. Here we go:

13. For One More Day by Mitch Albom

This is a story about Charles, a child of divorce who is always to choose between his father and mother. One day, he secretly leaves his mother to be with his father, and his mother dies while he’s gone. It haunts him for years until he decided to kill himself. There was time I was so angry at Charles and what he did to his mom.Β  I was this close to throw my book because it was too much. And then we find out what really happened to his mom all this time. The things he never know about his parents and it was like an eyes opening for him.

OMG guys! I cried so much reading this. It made me want to hug my mom and tell her I love her. I highly recommended this book! love Mitch Albom so much. I’ve read his book The Five People You Meet in Heaven when I was in junior high school. And I love it.

12. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

This is a story about Melinda Sordino at the beginning of the school year. All of her schoolmate hate her because she called 911 at the party. She just stop speak since then. Along the way we will find out why she called 911. I really want to hug Melinda and tell herΒ it’s okay.

I watched the movie first before I read the book. I love the way Laurie wrote her book. So spacey, that’s why I read it in fast-pace. Can’t wait to read her other books.

Move on to the movie, I love the movie so much. I know I’m biased but seriously tho, Kristen Stewart was great in that movie. She delivered her character really great. I think you definitely give a shot to watch the movie. Unlike this booktuber I watched a while ago. He totally bitching Kristen on his video. Judging the movie just by the trailer (yes, he doesn’t even watched the movie). I freaking annoyed by him. For me, he’s so unprofessional to be honest. But whatever.

11. Before I die by Jenny Downham

This book is about Tessa who has leukemia and only has few months to live, and she doesn’t want to spend them in hospital. She started making list to-do before she die. Love it. Love it.

10. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

This book is about Allyson, a high school graduate that was on Europe Tour and then meet Dutch amateur actor in England Willem. Allyson decided to go with Willem to Paris and spend one day with him. As the next day comes, Willem just gone. No notes whatsoever that saying where was he. Feeling sad, she’s back home and start her college. She was really a mess. Failed classes. No friends. Depressed. Until she encourage herself to change her life and go back to Paris.

I enjoyed this book. Love how Allyson slowly build her life again. How she finds Willem back in Paris. Everything. And I expected so much for the sequel. But the second book disappoint me. Gah, I don’t hate it but do not like it either. But this one definitely recommended.

9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

No words needed. Just read it. NOW

(Besides, the movie is coming out this year. Be sure to read the book first πŸ˜‰ )

8. The Grimm Diaries Prequels Series (1-6) by Cameron Jace

Hahaha I know this is a series (which is more than one book) but lemme tell you, this series is so interesting to read. Like we all know people writing or making movie about retelling-fairy tales this year. Which I love. So this series is kind of perfection. These are short stories for his upcoming series The Grimm Diaries and told by different character each book. I only read 1-6. I read it all in one sitting. My fave story is Ladle Rat Rotten Hut. Yep. Weird tittle right? You’ll understand once you read it πŸ˜‰ . Plan to read the rest of the books this year.

7. Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning

Another series I read this year (told ya, I read a lots of series in 2013). This series is about MacKayla Lane who thought her life is perfect. Until she got news that her sister is murdered in Ireland. Received a cryptic message on Mac’s cellphone from her sister, she decided to go to Ireland to find her sister’s killer. That draws her to the world where things is not always what it seems. Where good and evil lived side-by-side. Turns out she possessed a power that allows her to see the world of Fae.

OMG I adore this series so much. Mac and Baron. My ultimate OTP. I feel like want to strangle them both and make the kissing. The sexual tension between them… HOH. For those who loves Fantasy definitely should read this series. ASAP.

6. Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Can-not-stop-laughing-tears-rolling-down that kind of book. yes. read this. Highly recommended.

5. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

I don’t even. assfsgahfafsfagahahsf i don’t know. My heart still hurt every time see this book.

Read it at your own risk. Don’t tell me I don’t warn you.

4. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

I love vampires. I think this is the second series I read about vampires (?) ahaha I dunno. I think yeah. And of course I suck on everything about vampires. I love every single books from this series. And the roller coaster about Rose and Dimitri. sigh.

The movie is coming out this February. (see trailer here) It looks like a fun movie. Hope it worth the wait.

3. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My bestie gave me this book as birthday gift πŸ˜€ and thankful that she picked this. I fall in love with anything about circus. And like that wasn’t enough. It has magic in it. LIKE WAIT WHAT. Everything about this book is beautiful. love love love

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

THIS BOOK WAS MADE FOR ME. YES.

It’s about Cath who is a Simon Snow Fan. She writes fan fiction, dressing up like the characters, go to the premieres, talking about her beloved Simon Snow for hours. Her twin sister used to be with her. But now they’re in college, her twin – Wren – grown out from the fandom and leave Cath alone. Cath never goes out with her college friends, never eat in the cafeteria. Until one day she knows Reagan and Levi. And oh Levi. WHERE I COULD FIND A BOY LIKE HIM? He’s so sweet and funny.Β Highly Recommended. Especially for those of you who are in deep on your own fandom. I believe you guys could relate to Cath. BECAUSE I COULD.

1. Sempre Redemption by J.M Darhower

This is the sequel of Sempre . This is one of those books that were from Twilight Fan Fiction that got published. I feel like this book is underrated. Every time we hear the words Twilight Fan Fiction that got published, people automatically said Fifty Shades of Grey. But this book are totally different from that sexy books. In fact this is about Mafia and Slave. yes slave. Totally worth it. You guys need to read this book. Give it a chance πŸ™‚

Whoa what a list! hahaha. Please share your faves books of 2013 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

