Movie Sunday: Divergent

divergent-poster-full

Before the movie released world widely, there has been this drama about Shailene Woodley bashing Twilight. She said to Teen Vogue and I quote, “a very unhealthy, toxic relationship…. She falls in love with this guy and the second he leaves her, her life is over and she’s going to kill herself! What message are we sending to young people? That is not going to help this world evolve

Me as a hardcore Twilight fans was so mad at her. WTF? The moment I started to like her and she did this? I’m not stupid, I know this is a marketing strategy but for her to diss Twilight like that is not cool either. You don’t need to shit on other franchise just to make yours looks better.  Does she even realizes that half of people who read the Divergent series are Twilight Fans? For her to say some shit like that had such a huge risk. Come on, Summit Entertainment would be bankrupt now if they didn’t choose Twilight back then. Which by the way, the company who produce your movies (Divergent Series and TFIOS), Shailene. I’m so disappointed with Shailene. Didn’t expect her at all to be that pretentious bitch. I like this great article from Indiewire, they said “If she wants to tell stories with better messages to young audiences that will “help this world evolve,” great. But there’s no need for her to lambast the people who have opened doors for her.”

Believe me, you don’t want to mess with Twilight fans. Those half people could end up wont see the movie at all because of what she said, and I almost one of them.

Almost.

Because even though I don’t like Shai, I wouldn’t do that  to the others who works so hard for making this movie. Especially to Mrs Veronica Roth herself. The actors might be an asshole, but don’t take it on the Divergent itself. It still a great story and I still love it.

I saw it on Thursday and the theater was half full.

Of course I saw the movie. Of course the movie was surprisingly amazing (because I always had a low expectation for movie adaption from books). Of course I teared up.

Those gifs are basically me in the movie theater.

Everything was beautifully crafted. Even the scores and songs were perfectly fit. Especially ‘Choosing Ceremony’ scene, I was choked up since then. It was so emotional. Like when you read the book, and you feel like you are a part of the story.  There’s thing that has been bothering me, why in the movie Tris only has five fears? In the book she has six, right? And the scene when her mom visited her, it was supposed to be “Visit Day” where are all the parents visit their kids, right?

Other than that, I love the movie so much. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

