Movie Sunday: The Raid 2: Berandal

Even more graphic, bolder and bloodier.

This week I saw The Raid 2 with my mom. The movie was awesome, even sometimes I covered my eyes because it was so graphic and bloody. Its all about fight follows with even more intense fight. Definitely not for the faint of heart.

The Raid 2 take off where The Raid: Redemption end. Rama (Iko Uwais) — a battered and banged-up cop — taken by clandestine police division that want his help to take down all corrupt cops in Jakarta. Rama agreed to go undercover to get close to the son of a mob boss, Ucok (Arifin Putra), the family he meant to destroy. In return, they will keep Rama’s family safe.

First of all, can we take a moment to appreciate how great Arifin Putra was as Ucok. I had only seen him on TV, either on Soap Opera or TV movies, and to be honest, he was not that good. So its surprised me when he could make his character stand-out throughout the movie.

I recognized a lot of senior actors there, and others familiar faces, like Thomas Nawilis. LOL. I don’t know, his face always made me laugh. Another thing that shocked me was seeing Julie Estelle as Hammer Girl. OMFG. I don’t even know it was her until I checked IMDB after saw the movie. HOLYSHIT. I don’t know she had it in her. Being bad-ass and throwing hammer here and there. Yayan Ruhian also make appearance with new character. I had a soft spot for him. Because he’s so funny, I even love him since he was Mad Dog in The Raid: Redemption. One thing that really bothered me was the ‘Snow Scene’ . Jakarta doesn’t have snow!

This is maybe not a greatest action movie that ever made, but for Indonesia. this is top notch, violently beautiful, and I couldn’t be more proud for my country.

For those who loves action movie, you definitely should see The Raid 2.

Rate: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

