Books Of The Months (April – May 2014)

Yep. I bring it back. This post is about all the books that I’ve read in April & May. And its going to be a long one.

First book I have , Old Magic by Marianne Curley. It follows about Jarrod Thornton and Kate Warren β€” a girl who has supernatural power, people called her a freak because of her Grandmother has this store that sell weird stuff. Kate sense something weird in Jarrod presence, until one day he conjures up a thunderstorm “inside” their classroom. Jarrod who doesn’t believe in paranormal stuff, thinks that Kate is crazy for saying that he’s the one who caused that thunderstorm. I love this book, I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Second book is Vampire Academy Graphic Novel by Richelle Mead. This is the first time I read graphic novel. I really enjoyed and loved it. I gave it 5 out 5 stars.

Keeping with the graphic novel, the third book is Twilight: The Graphic Novel by Stephenie Meyer. I really, really love it. It feels like reading Twilight all over again and fell in love with it again if that’s even possible. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Fourth book is Melodia by Keshia Deisra. This is Indonesian teen-lit. I read it because its my TBR Glass pick. I didn’t finish the book, because I’m annoyed with the Keshia writing-style which was so similar with Sitta Karina’s. Not only that, lack of the plot, its characters, etc. Eventho it has such a promising premise, it could have been so much better. I’ll probably going to continue it when I’m in the mood of reading teen-lit πŸ™‚

Next I have Beautiful Bastard Series by Christina Lauren. I read book 2 and book 3 also two others novellas. The first two books from this series was originally a twilight fanfiction, and the rest are their original works. I loved all of them.

Next book is She’ll Take it by Mary Carter. It follows Mel, a kleptomaniac, who thinks what she did was ‘right’. She always had a reason to shoplifting. Bad day, heartbroken, first day at work, family drama, etc. And one day she had to pay the consequences. I really loved it. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Next I have, Feedback by Robison Wells. Its the second book of Variant Duology. I can’t really tell what’s this is all about, because its gonna spoiled the first one. But if you have read the first one, here is my review of Feedback. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars. I liked it, enjoyed it, but not my favorite.

Book number-I-forget-to-count *lol* is Still Alice by Lisa Genova. Alice Howland – Harvard professor, gifted researcher and lecturer, wife, and mother of three grown children. One day, Alice sets out for a run and soon realizes she has no idea how to find her way home. It’s a route she has taken for years, but nothing looks familiar. She is utterly lost. Is her forgetfulness the result of menopausal symptoms? A ministroke? A neurological cancer? After a few doctors’ appointments and medical tests, Alice has her diagnosis, and it’s a shocker — she has early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. Β  I absolutely love it. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars. See my review here.

Next book is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. This is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-oldsβ€”smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. I really loved it but not so much the ending. Raaahhhhh. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

I swear I’m almost there! lol

Next book is Monster in His EyesΒ  by J.M. Darhower. It follows Karissa β€” a college student who struggle with her GPA β€” met a guy named Ignazio whom way older than her. Her entire world turn upside down the moment she met him. Typical Cinderella stories type.Β  And their sex life was so intense. Some part were lil bit graphic to me, and I could totally understand why some find this HAWT. They are perfectly fine until some dramatic event happened to her, and that makes her life would never be the same. Overall I like it. I feel meh about the female character. I can’t connect with her at all. I gave it 3 out 5 stars.

Next book is The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler. I already did a review on this book here. It follows two high school students β€” Emma and Josh β€” back in 1996. Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM. They log on, and discovered themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future. They wondered what future has in store for them. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars. I like the premise and it was an easy read.

Next book is Human Evolution: A Pelican Introduction (Pelican Books) by Robin Dunbar. Its book about human evolution and why, we human, had survive the evolution. I also did a review on here. It definitely such an interesting book. Robin Dunbar laid out all the information in detail about human evolution. I gave it 3 out 5 stars.

And finally the last book is Angelfall by Susan EE. Angelfall is book about post-apocalyptic world where the angels descended to destroy the new world. Seventeen-year-old girl, Penryn, and her family got themselves in a middle of warrior angels fights that got her little sister taken by the angel. Leave Raffe, the broken and wingless warrior angel, on the street. She has no choice, but help Raffe in order to get her little sister back. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I really love it! The book its cheesy, full of action pack, and the female character is not swoony dumb girl over the angel. Also I already did a review here.

I also read about 4 Detective Conan comic books, one biography about Mark Zuckerberg, one Lemony Snicket book, and one Princess Diaries novella. I didn’t include all of that because this post would be too long and my fingers are already hurting from typing (lol).

Whoa so for the past two months I manage to read about 23 books!!!!! *pat myself on the back*

What about you? How much book do you read this month? Let me know in the comment below πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

