Book Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This Review contains spoilers! 

LARA JEAN keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved–five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

I don’t know what to say about this book because I LIKE it way too much and I don’t expect it. I don’t really enjoy her Summer trilogy  and I can’t say that much about Burn For Burn trilogy because the last book hasn’t come out yet! I’m afraid this book would be so cheesy and unbearable main character. When I was in the bookstore, I said, Screw it! I’m buying this book!

I looooove Lara Jean. She is basically me. I could relate so much to her. AND WE ARE BOTH ASIAN *creys* (I support anything Asian lol) I love her character development from the beginning to the end of the book. How she struggles to get out of her comfort zone and be her own person–something that I wish I have it in me.

I don’t want to be afraid anymore. I want to be brave. I want…life to start happening. I want to fall in love and I want a boy to fall in love with me back

I love how she step up since Margot left for Scotland even she’s not good doing it but she tried so hard. How she drive to the groceries store even though she hates driving. The part where she is driving with Kitty and she was afraid to change lane is EXACTLY how I feel when I’m driving. 😡

If this is a standalone book, I would give it 4,5 stars or even 5. But now that Jenny Han decided to write the second book, I don’t know anymore. I don’t want something happen to Peter and Lara Jean. I just want them to stay together forever, but reading the summary of the second book, I feel like Josh would ruin it 😦

Overall, I enjoy it so much. Jenny Han has this wicked ways to make her readers hook and invested to her characters. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

