Book Review: Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1) by Sally Green

Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1) by Sally Green

My Rating: 3 stars out of 5 stars

Title: Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1)

Author: Sally Green

Published: Published March 4th 2014 by Viking Books for Young Readers

Page: 394

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powersβ€”before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

This book begin from the second person narrative for the first few pages. I find it unique and brave on Ms. Sally Green part. Not many books that I have read told by the second person perspective. I was hesitated at first to read this book because of the mixed reviews. I can totally see why some people didn’t like it. I mean I have issues with the child abuse that had been going on in this book. Then again, aren’t most of YA books are like that? Even Harry Potter (Even though not as extreme as in this book, in my opinion). I enjoy it so far, and would continue to read the second book. I really want to know If Gabriel survive? (Team Gabriel btw). Or Annalise is a spy after all?

I definitely would recommend it to anyone who loves Fantasy.

One thought on “Book Review: Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1) by Sally Green

Leave a Reply

