Recent Reads 2016 | Books 1-5

I’ve been watching Max from WellDoneBooks on Youtube doing ‘Recent Reads’ instead of wrap up. And I thought, that’s actually a good idea. So I don’t have to unnecessarily put pressure on myself to finish a book or do a blog-post  at the end of the month. Instead I’m gonna post a blog-post every time I read three or five books.  Let’s see how it goes. So without further a do here’s five books that I’ve been reading recently.

  1. Pulang by Tere Liye. Last year my good friend Aliya told me that she’s been reading this Indonesian Author’s  books like crazy. Like she literally bought all of her books. For someone who rarely read a book by Indonesian authors except Sitta Karina, I was like really? That Good, huh? But because I trust her reading taste, I decided to buy not one but two bestseller books from Tere Liye. One of them is Pulang. Pulang is a story about a boy named Bujang who got himself into a “Shadow Economy” (mafia? I don’t know the term for it in Englsh. I’m sorry). We learned how they trained Bujang to be the next leader and how he maintain it when he’s already on top also how deep his loyalty goes to the person who got him where he is now. I love how this book jump from flashback to the current event. Tere Liye done it tastefully without it feeling cheesy.
  2. Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I’ve been hesitating to start this book because I haven’t read the Grisha trilogy. But my friend said, it’s okay to read it without reading the previous trilogy. This book is about six people who goes on an heist. The story told from multiple POVS. The world building is amazing, fantastic characters, BUT it get so boring I only like the third half of the book. Also my issue with this book is too many POVs, so sometimes I’ve got confused who’s telling the story right now. Although, I do understand why Leigh Bardugo did this. So we could get to know each of characters personally. I think that’s my issue with all of fantasy books. lol. Anyway, I cannot wait to read the final book (second book) because the first book left us hanging.
  3. Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain. I read this book because it’s gonna be turn into a movie and my favorite actress Kristen Stewart is in it. So of course I had to read the book first before the movie came out this year. This book is about Billy Lynn who goes to war during America’s war in Iraq. This book shows how different perspective of war between the people who stays at home and the one who actually at war.
  4. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver. This book is about two sisters who got into accident that got them separated. Lauren Oliver did it again by her amazing writing. I instantly hook. This book literally has me on the edge of my seat. There’s a missing girl in the neighborhood and this is somehow intertwined with how this two sisters found each other again. I honestly blown away by how this story end. I didn’t expect it. At all.
  5. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. This book is a coming-of-age story, about a college student named Toru. He’s in love with his dead bestfriend’s girlfriend and how he adapt with his college life. I do not like this book at all. I’m sorry if any of you happen to like it. I just can’t get into the story at all. I didn’t connect with any of the characters. In fact I hate them. I still want to read Murakami other books though. Because I love Murakami’s writing style.
One thought on “Recent Reads 2016 | Books 1-5

Leave a Reply

