Comic Book Review: Octopus Pie: Volume 1 By Meredith Gran

Title: Octopus Pie: Volume 1

Author: Meredith Gran

Published: March 1st 2016 by Image Comics

Page: 200

Summary: In this first collected volume of the Octopus Pie series, we follow grumpy twenty-something Eve and her stoner roommate Hanna as they navigate post-college life. They’ll take on crazed childhood rivals, troubling art scenes, the discomfort of exes, and maybe even… friendship? All this and more in the fictional, totally made-up city of Brooklyn. Well paced and grounded, ranging from funny ha-ha to odd observational humor, Octopus Pie s ultimate hooks are its flawed but genuine characters. Booklist”


I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The art caught my eyes when I saw it on NetGalley and the description sounded humorous. It’s entertaining enough. Although, I wouldn’t lie that I thought this would be as funny as I thought it would be. Somehow Eve remind me of the girl from Sarah Anderson’s comic. Maybe that’s just me tho.

It’s about Eve–twenty-something girl– who didn’t quite satisfied with her life. Her mom put on Craigslist that Eve needs a new roomate–who turned out to be her Pre-K friend, Hanna. I’d say Hanna is quite interesting. She’s a free-spirited girl which is the opposite of our main character. Hanna’s present significantly changed Eve’s life.

My favorite part of this book is when Eve and Hanna goes to the park and then Hanna talk about how her dream is to have a duck farm with her boyfriend. Her reasons oddly enough made me chuckle.

Leave a Reply

