Book Review: The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere #1) By Heidi Heilig

Title: The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere #1)

Author: Heidi Heilig

Published: March 3rd 2016 by Hot Key Books

Page: 320

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times – although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix’s father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. (Goodreads)

I received a free digital copy from Hot Key Books through NetGalley in exchange of honest review. This review might contains spoiler!

I was so excited when I saw this on ‘Read Now’ section on NetGalley because I’ve been wanting to read this book since I keep hearing people talk about it on Goodreads. So I don’t wanna miss my chance and read it right away.

This is my first time reading a time-traveler book. I must say it doesn’t disappointing, but it wasn’t mind-blowing either. I’m expecting a lot more of “time-traveling” (like jump from one place into another. Ykwim?) instead of just staying in one place to get a map that lead to Nix’s mother. And then we have Kashmir and Blake Hartβ€”the main character’s potential love interest. Yep, another love triangle. It just like Katniss-Peeta-Gale all over again. I’m so over that. I really hope in the next book we won’t have to deal with this stuff. More time-traveler/pirate stuff please.

What I love about this book:

  • Kashmir. He’s so sassy, funny and intelligent. I love his banter with Nix. I wish we get to know more about him in the next book
  • It sets in Hawaii. I’ve never read a book that sets in Hawaii. It’s so cool to get to know some of history about Hawaii.
  • Diversity. I love that this book has lots of myths from other ethnicity. You can tell the author did her research really well.

What I don’t like about this book:

  • Love Triangle. It’s not that I hate the idea of it, but in this book, it just made me almost hate Nix. I don’t want that. Because I have the intention of reading the next book. How could I do that if I hate the main character? Also kissing the other guy while Kashmir is watching? I’ve had enough of that in Twilight when Bella kissed Jacob. lol bye
  • Nix. She was just so damn boring. Her presence oftentimes got out-shined by the secondary character.

Overall, I like the book as a whole and would like to continue on the next book. I would like to recommend it to people who like/just starting to read a book about time-traveler, this book might be a good start for you. It does for me at least.


Leave a Reply

